Lens-Artists Challenge #269: On the Edge

This week, Patti from Pilotfishblog brought us the theme “On the Edge” with a wide variety of interpretation. I choose to use quite literal ones for this post.

(1) Edge of roof in Osaka Castle, Japan. October 27, 2013

Did you know that this hip-and-gable roof usually used in Japanese castles and temples is called “Irimoya“? I just found out about it. Here’s where I read about it: click! It was my first time in Japan, back in 2013. We visited a few cities and Osaka was one of them. After a few days of a lot of heavy clouds and drizzling rain (rain on trips are such a hassle), we finally got a great weather and blue sky in Osaka. Thank God, because, look at those details that my old mobile phone was able to capture under the bright sun *chef’s kiss*

(2) Edge of temple, Prambanan Temple, Jogjakarta, Indonesia. September 6, 2015.

Out of all of the photos for this trip, somehow this is the only shot that is artistically pleasing to me. The others are blurred, with drab colors, no details captured etc. The fact that the original photos are gone and only Facebook copies were able to be salvaged is probably the reason why the photos are so bland even after editing, but this one, this one is okay and I like it!

(3) Edge of the terraced rice field in Jatiluwih, Bali. April 28, 2022.

This area that I took photo of is located quite a distance from the main road. I was about to trek down to a waterfall called Yeh Hoo Waterfall, and the entrance to the trail was surrounded by these terraced rice fields. Apparently, Jatiluwih Rice Terrace had been listed as one of world cultural heritage sites by UNESCO.

(4) Edges of wood lattice ceiling. September 24, 2020.

I really don’t have to look to far for edges. My project photo progress are basically full of edges in various stages and various details (LOL). I choose one of this trippy wood lattice ceiling and turn it black and white to accentuate its many edges.

(5) Soft edge of the villa yard enclosure, Hotel Andaz Bali. June 26, 2021

I was invited on a site visit to a beautiful hotel in Sanur, and whilst busy looking around and studying details and landscape and whatnots, I found this corner mesmerizing in its simplicity. Hard edges are abundant in manmade constructions. To soften those edges, landscape designers use climbing plants or cascading plants, like shown in this photo.

That’s all for my participation in this week’s theme. Thank you everyone for sharing your posts, they’re always inspiring and informative. I’m happy to be a tiny part of this warm and welcoming community.

5 thoughts on “Lens-Artists Challenge #269: On the Edge

  1. Tina Schell

    LOL for the cookie for your thoughts Yanti 😊 Terrific choices for the week, the last is my favorite. Also loved the rice fields. Your comment about our community is much appreciated!

    Reply
  2. Wind Kisses

    Nice selections. I am with you on the rice fields photo, Yanti. One good one is all you need and it was great. Thank you for your kind note and being a part of what makes this community warm and welcoming.

    Reply

A cookie for your thoughts